Gallagher Named All-Star And Humanitarian of The Year Nominee

For the second straight season Vancouver Giants forward Brendan Gallagher was named a 1st Team Western Conference All-Star. The 19 year old scored 41 goals to go along with 36 assists and 77 points in just 54 games. In is 4 years with the Giants he has set franchise records in career goals with 136 and points with 280. Gallagher is joined on the 1st team by Tri-City Americans forward Brendan Shinnimin and goaltender Ty Rimmer, Portland Winterhawks forward Ty Rattie and defenceman Joe Morrow, and Spokane Chiefs blueliner Brenden Kichton.

Gallagher was also named the Western Conference Nominee for the Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy as the Humanitarian of the Year. Following the death of his grandfather due to prostate cancer in 2010, Gallagher started Gally’s Goals For Cancer to raise money and awareness for prostate cancer. Over the last two seasons Brendan has donated $20 for every Vancouver Giants victory, while the organization has donated $100 for every goal he has scored. In the last two years Brendan has helped raise over $10,000 for the Prostate Cancer Foundation of BC. As well, Brendan is heavily involved in the Giants ‘Read To Succeed’ program which encourages reading and exercise in elementary schools across the Lower Mainlaind. Taylor Vause of the Swift Current Broncos is the Eastern Conference Nominee.

The winners of these awards along with the WHL Player of the Year will be announced at the 2012 WHL Awards Luncheon in Calgary, Alberta on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012.

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Sam Reinhart (Vancouver, BC), Kootenay Ice
Western Conference – Tim Bozon (Cureglia, SUI), Kamloops Blazers

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy
Eastern Conference – Tyler Bunz (St. Albert, AB), Medicine Hat Tigers
Western Conference – Ty Rimmer (Edmonton, AB), Tri-City Americans

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Alex Petrovic (Edmonton, AB), Red Deer Rebels
Western Conference – Brenden Kichton (Spruce Grove, AB), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy  
Eastern Conference – Mark Stone (Winnipeg, MB), Brandon Wheat Kings
Western Conference – Ryan Murray (White City, SK), Everett Silvertips

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Jimmy Bubnick (Saskatoon, SK), Calgary Hitmen
Western Conference – Reid Gow (Killarney, MB), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference –  Pat Conacher, Regina Pats
Western Conference – Jim Hiller, Tri-City Americans

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Bob Green, Edmonton Oil Kings
Western Conference – Craig Bonner, Kamloops Blazers

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Taylor Vause (Calgary, AB), Swift Current Broncos
Western Conference – Brendan Gallagher (Delta, BC), Vancouver Giants

WHL Marketing / Business Award
Eastern Conference – Moose Jaw Warriors
Western Conference – Spokane Chiefs

WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy
Edmonton Oil Kings:   GP – 72          W – 50        L – 15      OTL – 3      SL – 4          Pts – 107

WHL Top Scorer – Bob Clarke Trophy
Brendan Shinnimin – (Winnipeg, MB) Tri-City Americans
GP – 69                 G – 58                   A – 76                    Pts – 134                              PIM – 82

The WHL Eastern and Western Conference All-Star Teams are as follows:


Goaltender – Ty Rimmer (Edmonton, AB), Tri-City Americans
Defenceman – Brenden Kichton (Spruce Grove, AB), Spokane Chiefs
Defenceman – Joseph Morrow (Sherwood Park, AB), Portland Winterhawks
Forward – Ty Rattie (Airdrie, AB), Portland Winterhawks *
Forward – Brendan Shinnimin (Winnipeg, MB), Tri-City Americans *
Forward – Brendan Gallagher (Delta, BC), Vancouver Giants

Goaltender – Cole Cheveldave (Calgary, AB), Kamloops Blazers
Defenceman – Ryan Murray (White City, SK), Everett Silvertips
Defenceman – Austin Madaisky (Surrey, BC), Kamloops Blazers
Forward – Sven Bartschi (Langenthal, SUI), Portland Winterhawks
Forward – Adam Hughesman (Winnipeg, MB), Tri-City Americans
Forward – Patrick Holland (Lethbridge, AB), Tri-City Americans


Goaltender – Tyler Bunz (St. Albert, AB), Medicine Hat Tigers
Defenceman – Alex Petrovic (Edmonton, AB), Red Deer Rebels
Defenceman – Ryan Pulock (Dauphin, MB), Brandon Wheat Kings
Forward – Emerson Etem (Long Beach, CA), Medicine Hat Tigers*
Forward – Mark Stone (Winnipeg, MB), Brandon Wheat Kings*
Forward – Jordan Weal (North Vancouver, BC), Regina Pats

Goaltender – Nathan Lieuwen (Abottsford, BC), Kootenay Ice
Defenceman – Mark Pysyk (Sherwood Park, AB), Edmonton Oil Kings
Defenceman – Brandon Davidson (Taber, AB), Regina Pats
Forward – Michael St. Croix (Winnipeg, MB), Edmonton Oil Kings
Forward – Max Reinhart (Vancouver, BC), Kootenay Ice
Forward – Michael Ferland (Brandon, MB), Brandon Wheat Kings
*   indicates unanimous selection

More News
Western Hockey League & RE/MAX announce 'Goals For Mental Health' in support of CMHA
20 hours ago
White Spot Giants This Week: Justin Sourdif + Keith McCambridge
1 day ago
White Spot Giants This Week: Carter Popoff + James Gallo
2 weeks ago
Trent Miner Makes First Career AHL Start
2 weeks ago
WHL Interview: Trent Miner, Vancouver Giants
4 weeks ago
White Spot Giants This Week Recap: Bob Brown
1 month ago