Ron Toigo To Receive BC Sports Hall Of Fame’s W.A.C. Bennett Award

Chris Relke


The Vancouver Giants are very pleased to announce that Ron Toigo, Majority Owner, Governor and President of the Vancouver Giants, will receive the 2019 BC Sports Hall of Fame W.A.C. Bennett Award on May 23, 2019 at the BC Sports Hall of Fame’s Induction Gala. The announcement was made earlier this morning at the BC Sports Hall of Fame in Downtown Vancouver.

Ron Toigo’s tenure in junior hockey started in 1991 when he became the owner of the WHL’s Tri-City Americans. After selling the club in 2000 he became the Majority Owner and President of the Vancouver Giants. He also continues to serve on the Executive Committee for the WHL’s Board of Governors.

The Tsawwassen, B.C. resident played a major role in bringing 2006 World Junior Championships to Vancouver. He served as both the Head of the Bid Committee and later the tournament Chair for what is widely regarded as one of the most successful World Junior hockey tournaments in the history of the event. Fittingly, the news of his W.A.C. Bennett Award takes place one month short of the start of the 2019 World Juniors (Vancouver and Victoria BC) – an event that Toigo is co-chairing. Under Ron Toigo’s leadership, the Vancouver Giants also hosted and captured the 2007 Memorial Cup Championship.

Some of Ron Toigo’s additional sports honours include: An induction into the BC Hockey Hall Of Fame in 2017 and an induction into the Delta Sports Hall of Fame in 2010. During his tenure at Majority Owner and President of the Vancouver Giants, his team captured the 2006 WHL Championship.

Other previous winners of the W.A.C. Bennett Award include:

Alex Nelson (2018)

David Sidoo (2017)
Arthur Griffiths (2016)

Pat Quinn (2013)

May Brown (2012)

Marty Zlotnik (2011)
Gordon Shrum (2008)

John Wilson ‘Jack’ Poole (2005)

John Furlong (2004)

Nat Bailey (2003)

Peter J.G. Bentley (1999)

Franz Wilhelmsen (1998)

Frank Griffiths, Sr. (1997)

Eugene Reimer (1993)

Jack Diamond (1989)

Rick Hansen (1987)

Charles N. ‘Chunky’ Woodward (1986)

Bill Cunningham (1983)

Terry Fox (1980)

The Vancouver Giants wish to congratulate Ron Toigo for receiving the 2019 BC Sports Hall of Fame’s W.A.C. Bennett Award.

More News
Giants Wrap Up Weekend With a 3-1 Victory in Kelowna
18 hours ago
PREVIEW: Vancouver Giants at Kelowna Rockets (Game #45)
1 day ago
Highlights: Giants (2) Rockets (3) OT
2 days ago
Giants Earn A Single Point in a 3-2 Overtime Loss to the Rockets
2 days ago
PREVIEW: Vancouver Giants vs. Kelowna Rockets (Game #44)
2 days ago
Giants Drop Hard Fought One-Goal Decision to the Everett Silvertips
4 days ago